Elizabeth Peters's picture
Photo: Osmund Geier

Elizabeth Peters

A pseudonym used by Barbara Michaels

Elizabeth Peters is a pen name of Barbara Mertz. She also writes as Barbara Michaels as well as her own name. Born and brought up in Illinois, she earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. Mertz was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lived in a historic farmhouse in Frederick, western Maryland until her death.

Genres: Historical Mystery, Mystery
Series contributed to
Anthologies containing stories by Elizabeth Peters
Agatha Award Best Novel winner (1989) : Naked Once More
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1991) : The Last Camel Died at Noon
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1992) : The Snake, The Crocodile and the Dog
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1994) : Night Train to Memphis
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1997) : Seeing a Large Cat
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1998) : The Ape Who Guards The Balance
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (2000) : Thunder in the Sky
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2001) : Thunder in the Sky
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (2002) : The Golden One

Elizabeth Peters recommends
The Resurrection Man (1992)
(Sarah Kelling and Max Bittersohn)
Charlotte MacLeod
"Charlotte MacLeod does what she does better than anybody else does it; and what she does is in the top rank of modern mystery fiction."
Show Stopper (1992)
(Peter and Kori Brichter Mystery, book 5)
Mary Monica Pulver
"Pulver adds a fresh American luster to the traditional mystery. She's one of the few writers whose books I actually buy - in hardcover!"
Death By the Light of the Moon (1992)
(Claire Malloy, book 7)
Joan Hess
"Hess's books are funny, acerbic, touching, terrific."
The Sirens Sang Of Murder (1989)
(Hilary Tamar, book 3)
Sarah Caudwell
"Oh rapture! Hilary and the gang are back... The Sirens Sang of Murder is an absolute joy."
Grime and Punishment (1989)
(Jane Jeffry, book 1)
Jill Churchill
"A winner!"
The Right Jack (1987)
(Sigrid Harald, book 4)
Margaret Maron
"Margaret Maron is one of the best writers in the business. Read her. That's an order."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors