book cover of The Last Guests
Added by 56 members
 

The Last Guests

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A wife finds herself racing for answers when the decision to rent out her family vacation home takes a deadly turn in this "twisty thriller" perfect for fans of Megan Miranda (Megan Goldin, author of The Escape Room).

Ever have the feeling you’re being watched?
 
Newlyweds Lina and Cain don’t make it out to their property on gorgeous Lake Tarawera as often as they’d like, so when Cain suggests they rent the house out to vacationers, Lina reluctantly agrees. While the home has been in her family for generations, they could use the extra money. And at first, Lina is amazed at how quickly guests line up, and at how much they’re willing to pay.
 
But both Lina and Cain have been keeping secrets, secrets that won’t be put off by fresh paint or a new alarm system. And someone has been watching them—their mundane tasks, their intimate moments. When a visit takes a deadly turn, Lina realizes someone out there knows something they shouldn’t…and that welcoming strangers into your home is playing a dangerous game.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A smart, innovative thriller, The Last Guests will have you moving off-grid and throwing your cell phone in the nearest lake. This nerve-wracking, fast-paced tale takes all our fears about surveillance technology and twists them into one nightmarish Gordian knot. Carefully constructed, chilling and compelling, Pomare's latest creation will keep you guessing right up to the last page." - Rose Carlyle

"Meticulously-plotted and relentlessly tense, The Last Guests is JP Pomare at the top of his psych-thriller game. On one hand, it's an innovative, exhilarating and deeply unsettling story about technology and the underbelly of cyber-crime . . . on the other, it's a sharp and thoughtful exploration of marriage, intimacy, trust, and the things we do for love. The characters and settings get right under your skin and stay there. Couldn't put it down, can't stop thinking about it. Bump it to the top of your must-read list immediately." - Anna Downes

"The Last Guests is a twisty thriller with an ending I didn't see coming. A cautionary tale for our times." - Megan Goldin

"Reading JP Pomare is like watching a magic trick. While you focus on his hands, you fail to see what’s really happening right in front of your eyes, or behind you, or outside your window." - Michael Robotham

"The Last Guests is a cunning, complex, contemporary thrill-ride." - Christian White


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for J P Pomare's The Last Guests


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors