Anna Downes's picture
64 followers

Anna Downes


UK flag

Anna Downes grew up in Sheffield, UK. She studied Drama at Manchester University before winning a place at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art and moving to London to pursue an acting career. Her acting credits include EastEnders, Casualty, Holby City and Dalziel and Pascoe, as well as a long running stage production of The Dresser in London's West End. In 2009 she left to go travelling and spent time in France, Egypt and Central America before finally settling in Australia in 2011. Anna became a dual citizen in 2016 and now lives just north of Sydney with her husband and two children. The Safe Place is her first novel and is partly inspired by her experiences working as a live-in housekeeper/caretaker on the French coast during her travels.
 

Genres: Mystery
 
New and upcoming books
August 2024

thumb
Red River Road
 
Novels
   The Safe Place (2020)
   The Shadow House (2022)
   Red River Road (2024)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Anna Downes recommends
thumb
The Search Party (2024)
Hannah Richell
"The Search Party is a dexterous blend of best and worst case scenarios, a chillingly relatable journey into the unexpected. With her cast of expertly crafted characters, evocative setting and taut prose, Richell has written a standout page-turner, thoroughly gripping from start to finish. Fans of Lucy Foley and Sarah Pearse will not want to miss this."
thumb
Dark Mode (2023)
Ashley Kalagian Blunt
"Riveting, tense and supremely chilling, this is an eye-opening must-read for crime fiction fans everywhere."
thumb
After You Were Gone (2022)
Vikki Wakefield
"Beautifully written and superbly unnerving, After You Were Gone is the very best kind of thriller: tender and wise as well as pulse-poundingly tense, with characters so real you want to linger with them even as you race through the pages, desperate to find out what happens. Absolutely wonderful, I could not have loved or admired it more."

More recommendations 


Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors