book cover of The Forgotten Girls
Added by 13 of our members

The Forgotten Girls

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
'I absolutely loved The Forgotten Girls. It is a beautiful, compelling read... Lizzie Page writes like a dream... I will be recommending this book to everyone I know.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. At home, Elaine's life isn't so simple - as the main breadwinner for her struggling family, she doesn't have much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams.

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby - a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line - and her world shifts. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last?

Present day. Even the kiss of warm sunshine and the musical call of birds at her family's countryside villa can't make Jen forget the heartbreak she's left behind. That is, until she begins to investigate the origins of a tattered family photograph: two sweet little girls gazing out across a sparkling bay, their eyes clear and hopeful - looking for all the world as if England hadn't just suffered the most terrible war imaginable. What is the story behind the picture, and could it finally be the key to mending the cracks in Jen's own past?

A heartbreaking World War Two novel - emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train, Sold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours.

What readers are saying about The Forgotten Girls:


'Twists and turns that keep you turning the page... I must read one more chapter before I turn out the light for the night... fans who enjoyed The Nightingale or Sold on a Monday will love this book as much as me. Authentic, heart-tugging and soul-stirring. Be sure to have tissues nearby.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A heartbreaking tale of life in 1943 living through the war... One of the best historical fiction books I have read in a long while.' Sean's Book Reviews, 5 stars

'It not only brought tears to my eyes when the connection between the two women was revealed, but it pulled on my heartstrings all the way through the book. A story of love and loss, family and friendships, this book will keep you gripped until the very last page. Would definitely recommend.' Stardust Book Reviews

'I came to really love the blossoming romance between Robert and Elaine... A beautiful novel, and one I highly recommend.' Emily Claire Writes

'A captivating story.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I absolutely loved The Forgotten Girls. It is a beautiful, compelling read... Lizzie Page writes like a dream... I will be recommending this book to everyone I know.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I really fell in love with this book... Beautifully done, the imagery is well written and I found myself picturing the scenes and living them out in my mind's eye. Well done!' Goodreads reviewer

'Oh, how I loved this book! I smiled, cried, my heart raced and I marvelled at the storytelling... Wonderful!' Angela Petch, author of The Tuscan Girl, 5 stars

'I just love the deft and thrilling blend of fact and fiction, and the way Lizzie Page brings characters from the past back to life. I am such a huge fan of her work.' Bestselling author Jill Mansell

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Two Sisters
Josephine Cox and Gilly Middleton

Used availability for Lizzie Page's The Forgotten Girls

Paperback Editions

February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A completely heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
ISBN: 1-83888-128-X / 978-1-83888-128-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A Completely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A Completely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A Completely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A Completely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Girls: A completely heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU