book cover of Sleeping Pretty
Added by 4 members

Sleeping Pretty

(The second book in the DCI David Fyfe series)
A novel by

Fyfe was in a good mood. The world was a pleasant place. In the inside pocket of his suit jacket was his resignation letter, carefully phrased around mysterious and unspecified personal reasons. That would get them wondering… The letter was kept in an unsealed envelope so that when the moment came he could write in the date and slap it down. The moment had to be right. Meanwhile, he was enjoying his life as it was and the envelope was getting ragged around the edges.

Edinburgh’s Detective Chief Inspector David Fyfe is a middle-aged police detective with a fondness for the easy way out… So, when the opportunity arises to escape Edinburgh’s usual urban confusion for a murder-suicide in a sleepy village in the Scottish Highlands, he can’t resist.

Fyfe discovers that the case he’ll be overseeing is being led by a young female detective inspector and he promises to give her—er, the case—his full attention. Unfortunately, peppered with false leads and a growing number of murder victims, the investigation gets more dangerous by the hour, forcing DCI Fyfe and DI McBain to put business before pleasure.

Sleeping Pretty is the second book in the DCI David Fyfe series. Full of suspense, this is a fast-moving, wryly humorous and expertly plotted detective novel.

‘Fyfe's engrossing ruminations on the human condition [means] readers will find themselves absorbed from beginning to end’ - Booklist

William Paul is a journalist in Edinburgh, where he lives with his wife and their two sons. He has also authored a number of other books, including Seasons of Revenge and The Lion Rampant.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for William Paul's Sleeping Pretty

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors