book cover of The Gold Frame

The Gold Frame

(1986)
(The third book in the Alexander Gold series)
A novel by

 
 
'A sequel to The Gold Solution , this is for those who want a witty, intelligent, challenging story.' - Library Journal

Can the Golds solve the unsolvable?


Somehow the unassuming Alexander Gold and his wife Norma keep getting mixed up with bizarre, and sometimes dangerous, criminal cases.

Becoming increasingly fearful, Norma asks her neighbour Burton about the possibility of sourcing a gun, but instead of coming away with a weapon, the Golds soon find themselves handed another case...

Burton soon reveals a mystery that involves Vermeer's Young Girl in a Turban and a woman named Hannelore Becker.

Hannelore has recreated Vermeers with such skill and knowledge and love, that museums became involved.

And so did Daniel Pereira Belmont: eighty years old and one of the richest men in New York and the supposed owner of the Fine Arts Museum of New York.

Norma is suspicious. No one owns a museum that size, but Burton promises that Belmont will reveal all himself the next day.

But then the museum's flamboyant director is murdered over his lunch of oysters and champagne.

Could the murder and the painting be connected?

The Golds find this murder is practically flawless; an unsolvable crime.

But something is afoot and just what does Hannelore Becker have to do with it?

So begins one of the Golds' most challenging and extraordinary cases as they try to decipher what is mere suspicion and what is far more sinister.

The Gold Frame is a fascinating mystery and the third book in the Norma Alexander Gold Thriller series.

Praise for Herbert Resnicow



'Herbert Resnicow's private eye, a new type, name of Gold, made me sit in awe when I wasn't chuckling at the wit of this whodunit ... Gold is a master of mind and matter and may his vibes increase in cases to come' - The New York Times

'A true original, unique, artful and very witty, with sharp, tart, delicious characters. First time a mystery made me laugh in decades' - Harold Q. Masur, author of The Broker

'Resnicow writes brightly with bouncy humor. Norma and Alex are a likeable couple in the tradition of Nick and Nora Charles and Jerry and Pamela North.' - Washington Post Book World

Herbert Resnicow was a late-blooming author. A civil engineer by training and trade, he changed careers at 60 with his first mystery The Gold Solution. Like his following novels, the plot reflects his long experience in construction. He died on April 5th 1997.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Herbert Resnicow's The Gold Frame

Hardback Editions

June 1986 : UK Hardback

Title: Gold Frame (Connoisseur crime)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 0-7090-2675-7 / 978-0-7090-2675-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gold Frame (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 3)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 1-5375-5248-1 / 978-1-5375-5248-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 1986 : USA Paperback

Title: The Gold Frame (A Norma and Alexander Gold Mystery)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 0-380-70048-4 / 978-0-380-70048-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Avon Books, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gold Frame (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 3)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA