book cover of The Gold Curse

The Gold Curse

(1986)
(The fourth book in the Alexander Gold series)
A novel by

 
 
'A true original, unique, artful and very witty, with sharp, tart, delicious characters. First time a mystery made me laugh in decades' - Harold Q. Masur, author of The Broker

A night to remember...

When Alexander and Norma Gold decide to attend a charity Opera event, in support of Tay-Sachs, raising money for Genetic Diseases, neither Alexander, nor Norma, are ready for the events that unfold that evening.

Aimed at billionaires, the over-priced seats are justified by the fact that well-known actors and singers will be on stage for the popular Rigoletto.

To Alexander, a private investigator, the plot is one that he finds hard to believe: how can a person be stabbed through the heart, then, ten minutes later, sing in the finale?

With seats costing double their usual price, and with his famous actors and singers, director Jan Valczyk intends to give the audience a premium show.

This show will be as real as it can get in theatre. And that's the truth.

In the darkness, as requested by the director, the audience watch and listen.

But for a murderer, this is the perfect setting...

As the story unfolds on stage, Alexander and Norma start to notice the undercurrents between the actors.

With Julia Baron predicting certain tragedies, the Gold's chalk the undercurrents as part of the acting.

Suddenly, Thea Malabar is dead... and not just in the show.

How could this have happened? And why?

Horrified by the killing of his former love, Minos Zacharias retains the services of A.I.K Inc., Private Investigators, for a rather substantial sum.

As Alexander and Norma start to investigate, alongside the police investigation, they uncover little more than the underlying suspicious nature behind Thea's death.

Could there be a link between Thea and Helen's deaths?

With no solid leads to follow, and with everyone seen as a potential suspect, the Gold's are at a standstill. Playing each suspect off against each other is the only way forward.

Or is there one other option they can try before they admit they are no closer to finding the killer than the police?

The Gold Curse is a thriller filled with all the intrigue and drama of a real-life theatre performance.

Praise for Herbert Resnicow



'A gem: sparkling dialogue, a neat lock room puzzle... Read this!' - Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

'Herbert Resnicow's private eye, a new type, name of Gold, made me sit in awe when I wasn't chuckling at the wit of this whodunit ... Gold is a master of mind and matter and may his vibes increase in cases to come' - The New York Times

'A true original, unique, artful and very witty, with sharp, tart, delicious characters. First time a mystery made me laugh in decades' - Harold Q. Masur, author of The Broker

'Resnicow writes brightly with bouncy humor. Norma and Alex are a likeable couple in the tradition of Nick and Nora Charles and Jerry and Pamela North.' - Washington Post Book World

Herbert Resnicow
was a late-blooming author. A civil engineer by training and trade, he changed careers at 60 with his first mystery The Gold Solution. Like his following novels, the plot reflects his long experience in construction. He died on April 5th 1997.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Herbert Resnicow's The Gold Curse

Hardback Editions

July 1986 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gold Curse: A Whodunit
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 0-312-33678-0 / 978-0-312-33678-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gold Curse (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 4)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 1-5394-8869-1 / 978-1-5394-8869-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gold Curse (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 4)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA