book cover of The Gold Gamble

The Gold Gamble

(1988)
(The fifth book in the Alexander Gold series)
A novel by

 
 
'Resnicow writes brightly with bouncy humor. Norma and Alex are a likeable couple in the tradition of Nick and Nora Charles and Jerry and Pamela North.' - Washington Post Book World

Somehow, the show must go on...

Norma Gold and her friend Pearl are co-producing a Broadway revival of Guys and Dolls , with the help of Maxwell Sapphire, who hasn't had a hit in four years.

Alexander Gold and Burton Hanslik have invested $2.5 million in the show, so Norma and Pearl are under pressure to make it a winner!

There are always problems in the theatre.

And Sapphire is determined for his mistress, Lisa Terrane, to star in a role on which rests the whole show...

But Norma and Pearl force him to star an old school friend of Norma's, Carol Sands, instead, but to placate Sapphire, Lisa Terrane is made Carol's understudy.

Then, three days before the critics' preview, Lisa Terrane is found cruelly murdered in her dressing room.

And Carol Sands is the only person on the floor at that time...

Burton persuades Lieutenant Warshafsky to hold off arresting his star until the critics' preview night.

But it is made very clear that if Alexander Gold can't solve the case by then, the show will have to close, taking with it Norma's and Pearl's dreams and all of Alexander's and Burton's money...

The night of the preview Warshafsky suddenly announces that he must arrest Carol at once and Alexander finds himself in a race against time to save Carol, the show, his wife, his money and his pride.

The Gold Gamble is an entertaining thriller with as much humour as suspense.

Praise for Herbert Resnicow



'A gem: sparkling dialogue, a neat lock room puzzle... Read this!' - Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

'Herbert Resnicow's private eye, a new type, name of Gold, made me sit in awe when I wasn't chuckling at the wit of this whodunit ... Gold is a master of mind and matter and may his vibes increase in cases to come' - The New York Times

'A true original, unique, artful and very witty, with sharp, tart, delicious characters. First time a mystery made me laugh in decades' - Harold Q. Masur, author of The Broker

Herbert Resnicow was a late-blooming author. A civil engineer by training and trade, he changed careers at 60 with his first mystery The Gold Solution. Like his following novels, the plot reflects his long experience in construction. He died on April 5th 1997.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Cross
(Eddie Flynn, book .5)
Steve Cavanagh
thumb
The Magdalen Martyrs
(Jack Taylor, book 3)
Ken Bruen

Used availability for Herbert Resnicow's The Gold Gamble

Hardback Editions

September 1988 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gold Gamble
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 0-312-02215-8 / 978-0-312-02215-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gold Gamble (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 5)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
ISBN: 1-5399-1507-7 / 978-1-5399-1507-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gold Gamble (A Norma and Alexander Gold Thriller Book 5)
Author(s): Herbert Resnicow
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA