book cover of A Short History of the Girl Next Door

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.

Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then, all of a sudden, one day, it's different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin number 1,001 nearly stops your heart?

Right. That sounds like a bad movie already.

Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can't tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; he implodes on the JV basketball team; and the only place he feels normal is in Mr. Ellis' English class, discussing the greatest fart scenes in literature and writing poems about pissed-off candy-cane lumberjacks.

If this were a movie, everything would work out perfectly. Tabby would discover that Matt's madly in love with her, be overcome with emotion, and fall into his arms. Maybe in the rain.

But that's not how it works. Matt watches Tabby get swept away by senior basketball star and all-around great guy Liam Branson. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough, but screwing up and losing her as a friend is even worse.

After a tragic accident, Matt finds himself left on the sidelines, on the verge of spiraling out of control and losing everything that matters to him.

From debut author Jared Reck comes a fiercely funny and heart-wrenching novel about love, longing, and what happens when life as you know it changes in an instant.

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Praise for this book

"A Short History of the Girl Next Door is a study in paradoxes. It’s laced with both sarcasm and yearning; it’s spit-out-your-drink funny and empty-the-tissue-box sad. Sharp, smart, and unforgettable, this book will make you want to drive down the court, basketball thudding from your hand, both glad and heartbroken to be alive." - Kate Hattemer

"This story broke my heart and made me laugh and gave me hope - and really, what more can you ask of a book than that? I loved it, and I have a feeling you will too." - Jennifer E Smith

"In the blink of an eye, A Short History of the Girl Next Door goes from hilarious to haunting to harrowing to heartbreaking to hopeful and back. You’ll never be sure exactly what kind of tears you’re crying. The riotously funny and achingly authentic voice of this gorgeous coming-of-age story will break your heart, but have no fear: it will piece it back together with the glue of love, hope, and humor, and it will be stronger than before." - Jeff Zentner


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jared Reck's A Short History of the Girl Next Door

Hardback Editions

September 2017 : Hardback
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
ISBN: 1-5247-1607-3 / 978-1-5247-1607-3
Publisher: Alfred a Knopf Inc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : Library Binding
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
ISBN: 1-5247-1608-1 / 978-1-5247-1608-0
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

December 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: A Short History Of The Girl Next Door
Author(s): JARED RECK
ISBN: 1-5247-1610-3 / 978-1-5247-1610-3
Publisher: RHUS CHILDREN'S BOOKS
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : Paperback
thumb

Title: A Short History Of The Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
ISBN: 1-5247-7075-2 / 978-1-5247-7075-4
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


September 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s): Jared Reck
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU