book cover of Death At the Inn

Death At the Inn

(The Case of the Forty Thieves)
(Book 57 in the Dr. Priestley series)
A novel by

The Case of the Forty Thieves, first published in 1953 (and also published in the UK under the title Death at the Inn), is book no. 57 in the series of mysteries featuring private detective Dr. Priestley. Author John Rhode, a pen name of Cecil Street (1884-1964), was a prolific writer of mostly detective novels, publishing more than 140 books between 1924 and 1961. From the dustjacket: It was the veteran sleuth Dr. Priestley who first suspected that an outbreak of scattered robberies throughout a wide radius around London was the work of a single crime syndicate. Inspector Jimmy Waghorn of Scotland Yard investigated each case separately - the missing Persian rug, the stolen mail bag, the two-gallon drum of narcotic poison and other robberies. Here are half a dozen mysteries combined into one master plot, a story packed with action, suspense and some unusually shrewd police work by two of Scotland Yard's top operators - the indefatigable Jimmy Waghorn and the veteran crime analyst Dr. Priestley.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for John Rhode's Death At the Inn

Hardback Editions

November 1967 : UK Hardback

Title: Death at the Inn
Author(s): John Rhode
ISBN: 0-85456-916-2 / 978-0-85456-916-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

December 2017 : Paperback

Title: Death at the Inn
Author(s): John Rhode
ISBN: 1-973504-83-9 / 978-1-973504-83-2
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   

November 1998 : UK Paperback

Title: Death at the Inn (Linford Mystery)
Author(s): John Rhode
ISBN: 0-7089-5392-1 / 978-0-7089-5392-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Linford (Large Print)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA Kindle edition

Title: The Case of the Forty Thieves: A Dr. Priestley Detective Story
Author(s): John Rhode
Publisher: NightHawk Books
Availability: Amazon