book cover of A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
From debut author Lisa Moore Ramee comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle-grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' The Hate U Give and the novels of Renee Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now, she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are, and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon, everyone is taking sides, and she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lisa Moore Ramee's A Good Kind of Trouble

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
ISBN: 0-06-283668-4 / 978-0-06-283668-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
ISBN: 0-06-283669-2 / 978-0-06-283669-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble Lib/E
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
ISBN: 1-982641-57-6 / 978-1-982641-57-3
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Rame, e
ISBN: 1-982641-59-2 / 978-1-982641-59-7
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Rame, e
ISBN: 1-982641-58-4 / 978-1-982641-58-0
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Kind of Trouble
Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramee
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU