book cover of A Woman of War
Added by 14 of our members

A Woman of War

(2018)
(The German Midwife)
A novel by

 
 
Mandy Robotham's highly awaited next book, The Secret Messenger, is available for preorder now.

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and love in the most unlikely of places.

Also published as The German Midwife.

'A powerful, haunting debut' Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

'Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn't put this down.' Katie Fforde, author of A Rose Petal Summer

'A fascinating story which had me forgetting it's fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!' Kitty Neale, author of A Sister's Sorrow

'Absorbing and totally believable - a wonderful WW2 novel.' Molly Green, author of An Orphan's War

'I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of [historical fiction] books I've read in 2018.' NetGalley Reviewer

'If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 stars I would!' NetGalley Reviewer

'The writing was excellent and the characters realistic [... ] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Very compelling.' NetGalley Reviewer

Germany, 1944. Taken from the camps to serve the Fuhrer himself, Anke Hoff is assigned as midwife to one of Hitler's inner circle. If she refuses, her family will die.

Torn between her duty as a caregiver and her hatred for the Nazi regime, Anke is swept into a life unlike anything she's ever known - and she discovers that many of those at the Berghof are just as trapped as she is. And soon, she's falling for a man who will make her world more complicated still...

Before long, the couple is faced with an impossible choice - and the consequences could be deadly. Can their forbidden love survive the horrors of war? And, more importantly, will they?

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn’t put this down." - Katie Fforde

"Absorbing and totally believable – a wonderful WW2 novel." - Molly Green

"A fascinating story which had me forgetting it’s fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!" - Kitty Neale


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Promise
(DS Imogen Grey, book 4)
Katerina Diamond

Used availability for Mandy Robotham's A Woman of War

Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-838165-8 / 978-0-00-838165-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-834052-8 / 978-0-00-834052-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-833591-5 / 978-0-00-833591-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Woman of War
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-832424-7 / 978-0-00-832424-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


December 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The German Midwife
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Woman of War
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Woman of War
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The German Midwife: A new historical romance from the USA Today best seller
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Woman of War: A new voice in historical fiction, for fans of the book The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU