book cover of Fire and Ice

Fire and Ice

(A book in the Magnus Iceland Mystery series)
An omnibus of novels by

'Michael Ridpath is on the war path, trouncing the Scandinavians on their home turf. This is international thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page turning suspense and a great, fresh location.' PETER JAMES

The first two Magnus Jonson mysteries brought together into one ebook volume.

Where the Shadows Lie

Amid Iceland's wild, volcanic landscape, rumours swirl of an eight-hundred-year-old manuscript inscribed with a long-lost saga about a ring of terrible power. A rediscovered saga alone would be worth a fortune, but, if the rumours can be believed, there is something much more valuable about this one. Something worth killing for. Something that will cost Professor Agnar Haraldsson his life.

Untangling murder from myth is Iceland-born, Boston-raised homicide detective Magnus Jonson. Seconded to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after he runs afoul of a drug cartel back in Boston, Magnus also has his own reasons for returning to the country of his birth for the first time in nearly two decades - the unsolved murder of his father.

And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

66 North

In Iceland, the credit crunch is biting. The currency has been devalued, banks nationalized, savings annihilated, lives ruined. Grassroots revolution is in the air, as is the feeling that someone ought to pay... the blood price. And in a country with a population of just 300,000 souls, where everyone knows everybody, it isn't hard to draw up a list of exactly who is responsible.

And then, one-by-one, to cross them off.

As bankers and politicians start to die, at home and abroad, it is up to Magnus Jonson to unravel the web of conspirators before they strike again.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Wild Fire
(Shetland, book 8)
Ann Cleeves

Used availability for Michael Ridpath's Fire and Ice

Kindle Editions

November 2012 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Fire and Ice Anthology: Where the Shadows Lie / 66 North (FIRE & ICE Series Book 1)
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU