book cover of Whale Fjord
Added by 15 members

Whale Fjord

(The seventh book in the Magnus Iceland Mystery series)
A novel by

Iceland 1940. Britain invades Iceland. Lieutenant Tom Marks is a British officer tasked with defending Whale Fjord. He meets Kristín, a young widow from a nearby farm, who has a small son. Tom is smitten.

Iceland 2023. Inspector Magnus Ragnarsson is called to the shores of Whale Fjord where the skeletons of a man and a woman have been discovered, both shot with British wartime bullets. Magnus uncovers a web of anger and revenge that stretches back eighty years and forward to a shocking murder in Reykjavík.

Praise for the Magnus Iceland Mystery series:

"International thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page turning suspense and a great, fresh location." -
Peter James

“One of our finest thriller writers” –
Daily Mail

“Ridpath has that read-on factor that sets bestsellers apart.” -
The Guardian

"Michael Ridpath continues to amaze me with his great sense of place with regards to Iceland. On top of that the book is an absolute page turner, as good as they come." -
Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, No1 Icelandic crime writer

“Magnus Jonson is a complex and totally compelling character, fitting perfectly into the bleak and intimidating settings of Ridpath’s Iceland.” –
New York Journal of Books

About the Author
Before becoming a writer, Michael Ridpath worked in the City of London. After writing several financial thrillers, which were published in over 30 languages, he began a crime series featuring the Icelandic detective Magnus Jonson. He has also written five stand-alone thrillers. He splits his time between London and Massachusetts. Visit his website at

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Michael Ridpath's Whale Fjord

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors