book cover of Under Enemy Colors
Added by 3 of our members

Under Enemy Colors

(2007)
(The first book in the Adventures of Charles Hayden series)
A novel by

 
 
A sweeping novel of maritime mutiny set against the backdrop of the French Revolution that evokes such masters as Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell.

At the time of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers, Charles Saunders Hayden, is a young lieutenant, the son of an English father and a French mother. His abilities and his loyalty to the king of England are beyond dispute, yet his career seems doomed by his "mixed" heritage and lack of political connections. Consequently, Hayden is assigned to an aging frigate, the Themis, under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, a man known as "Faint Hart" throughout the service.

As the Themis takes to sea to harass the enemy, the disaffection of the crew begins to boil over into acts of violence, and the lieutenant finds himself caught between his superior and a crew pushed toward mutiny. A revolution at sea ensues, and Hayden is wrenchingly torn between honor and duty, as the magnificent Royal Navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power.

This is a novel that satisfies on all levels, and will be loved by a wide range of readers: Patrick O'Brian's adoring literary following, as well as readers who love Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Jeff Shaara. Its scenes of maritime warfare match, and even surpass, O'Brian's for majesty and drama.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Kydd
(Thomas Kydd, book 1)
Julian Stockwin
thumb
Persephone
(Thomas Kydd, book 18)
Julian Stockwin
thumb
The Baltic Prize
(Thomas Kydd, book 19)
Julian Stockwin

Used availability for S Thomas Russell's Under Enemy Colors

Hardback Editions

March 2008 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-7181-5341-3 / 978-0-7181-5341-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-399-15443-4 / 978-0-399-15443-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-7181-5348-0 / 978-0-7181-5348-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 1-4059-2660-0 / 978-1-4059-2660-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-14-103314-2 / 978-0-14-103314-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-14-104149-8 / 978-0-14-104149-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


November 2008 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors (The Adventures of Charles Hayden)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-425-22362-0 / 978-0-425-22362-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-7181-5511-4 / 978-0-7181-5511-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2012 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors Lib/E (Adventures of Charles Hayden)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 1-4551-3560-7 / 978-1-4551-3560-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


September 2007 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-14-314248-8 / 978-0-14-314248-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2007 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

March 2008 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colours: Charles Hayden Book 1
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2007 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Under Enemy Colors (A Charles Hayden Novel Book 1)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon