Robert Olmstead's picture

Robert Olmstead

USA flag (b.1954)

Robert Olmstead (Fiction) is the author of six books, including most recently the award-winning novel Coal Black Horse published by Algonquin Books. He also has published a textbook for fiction-writing workshops ("Elements of the Craft") and a non-fiction memoir ("Stay Here with Me: A Memoir"), plus numerous individual stories and essays in some of our nation's finest magazines. He is the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship and an NEA grant. He has taught in numerous colleges, universities and writing workshops, including Dickinson College, UC Irvine, Boise State University and the Summer Literary Seminars in St. Petersburg, Russia. Currently, he lives in Ohio, where he is a professor at Ohio Wesleyan University.

Genres: Historical, Western
   Soft Water (1988)
   America By Land (1993)
   The Trail Of Hearts Blood Wherever We Go (1998)
   Coal Black Horse (2007)
   Far Bright Star (2009)
   The Coldest Night (2012)
   Savage Country (2017)
   River Dogs (1987)
Non fiction show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors