book cover of When I Come Home Again
Added by 24 of our members
 

When I Come Home Again

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
**Pre-order your copy of the brand new novel from highly acclaimed, BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick author Caroline Scott, The Visitors, a tale of a young war window and one life-changing, sun-drenched visit to Cornwall in the summer of 1923, now!'

‘A page-turning literary gem’ THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020

From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, comes a beautiful and compelling story based on true events, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.

One Great War soldier with no memory.
Three women who claim him as their own.

1918.
A soldier is arrested in Durham Cathedral in the last week of the First World War, but he has no memory of who he is or how he came to be there.

He is given the name Adam and transferred to a rehabilitation institution in the Lake District where Doctor James Haworth is determined to uncover his identity. But, unwilling to relive the trauma of war, Adam has locked his memory away, seemingly for good.
 
Then a newspaper publishes a feature about Adam, and three women come forward, each claiming that he is someone she lost in the war. But without memory, how do you know who to believe?

Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a beautiful and compelling story about love, loss and longing in the aftermath of war, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.

Praise for When I Come Home Again:

‘A superb and quietly devastating novel’ The Times, Book of the Month

'Scott unravels her haunting tale in unpretentious but persuasive prose' Sunday Times

‘A heartbreaking read… I highly recommend it’ Anita Frank

'Breathtaking exploration of loss, love and precious memories’ My Weekly, Pick of the Month

‘Achingly moving and most beautifully written’ Rachel Hore

‘This beautiful book packs a huge emotional punch’ Fabulous

‘Drew me in from the first line and held me enthralled until the very end' Fiona Valpy

‘Quietly devastating' Daily Mail

'A compulsive, heart-wrenching read' Liz Trenow

‘Powerful’ Woman & Home

'Page turning, mysterious, engrossing and compelling' Lorna Cook

‘A carefully nuanced, complex story’ Woman’s Weekly

‘Caroline Scott evokes the damage and desolation of the Great War with aching authenticity' Iona Grey

‘Poignant’ Best

‘Wonderful and evocative’ Suzanne Goldring

‘Based on true events, this is a powerful story’ Bella

‘Immersive, poignant, intricately woven’ Judith Kinghorn

‘An evocative read’ heat

‘The story left me breathless. Powerful, heartrending, and oh so tender’ Kate Furnivall

‘Tense and compelling’ Lancashire Post

‘Scott litters her tale with clues and red herrings in the best mystery-writer way so we are kept guessing as to where the truth really lies’ The BookBag


Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Wonderful and evocative . . . it was immediately intriguing and had the ring of truth. But what I realised . . . is that it is so much more subtle and complex than being just the journey to discover who Adam really is. It is not only about memory and identity, it's about the repercussions and tragedy of war, reaching out across vast swathes of society." - Suzanne Goldring

"A powerful story that’s achingly moving and most beautifully written. Readers of Maggie O’Farrell and Helen Dunmore are likely to enjoy When I Come Home Again." - Rachel Hore


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Caroline Scott's When I Come Home Again

Hardback Editions

October 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
ISBN: 1-4711-9217-2 / 978-1-4711-9217-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
ISBN: 1-398-50123-9 / 978-1-398-50123-2
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
ISBN: 1-4711-8377-7 / 978-1-4711-8377-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
ISBN: 1-4711-9218-0 / 978-1-4711-9218-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


October 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When I Come Home Again: 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020
Author(s): Caroline Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK