book cover of Shadow of the Lions
Added by 3 of our members

Shadow of the Lions

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
“A literary thriller and coming-of-age story set at an elite Virginia boarding school. A promising, well-crafted debut” (The Atlanta Journal-Constitution).

Southern Living Best Books of the Year

Publishers Weekly Best Summer Books

How long must we pay for the crimes of our youth? That is just one question Christopher Swann explores in this compulsively readable debut, a literary thriller set in the elite—and sometimes dark—environs of Blackburne, a prep school in Virginia. When Matthias Glass’s best friend, Fritz, vanishes without a trace in the middle of an argument during their senior year, Matthias tries to move on with his life, only to realize that until he discovers what happened to his missing friend, he will be stuck in the past—guilty, responsible, alone.

Almost ten years after Fritz’s disappearance, Matthias gets his chance. Offered a job teaching English at Blackburne, he gets swiftly drawn into the mystery. In the shadowy woods of his alma mater, he stumbles into a web of surveillance, dangerous lies, and buried secrets—and discovers the troubled underbelly of a school where the future had once always seemed bright.

“Fast-paced and full of unexpected turns, Christopher Swann’s Shadow of the Lions pulls readers into the dark underworld looming beneath a prestigious boys’ boarding school.” —Mira Jacob, author of The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing

“Comes alive with action and intrigue.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Swann’s tightly knit debut novel is a moving coming-of-age story with a noir twist that will appeal to readers of John Knowles’s A Separate Peace, N.H. Kleinbaum’s Dead Poets Society, and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.” —Library Journal (starred review)

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A twisty tale that surprises at every turn, Shadow of the Lions will keep you turning pages compulsively into the wee hours, cursing Christopher Swann for the inconvenience." - Jonathan Evison

"Swann is a gifted storyteller, a master at the twisty tale . . . Under Swann's deft hand, ultimately, Shadow of the Lions explores the timeless complexity of deep friendship--how it shapes us, destroys us and sometimes remakes us." - Patti Callahan Henry

"Fast-paced and full of unexpected turns, Christopher Swann's Shadow of the Lions pulls readers into the dark underworld looming beneath a prestigious boys' boarding school." - Mira Jacob

"A wonderful coming of age story, a taut emotional rollercoaster, and a hell of a debut. Christopher Swann hits the sweet spot with a novel that has a gripping plot, beautifully rendered characters, and an accomplished style. I loved it." - David Liss

"Both a poignant coming-of-age tale and a suspenseful mystery. Set in the persistently alluring environs of an elite prep school, where the idealistic image of striving achievement is always in conflict with the dark realities that trouble even the most privileged of lives, Shadow of the Lions illuminates the complexities of friendship, love, loyalty, and duty with remarkable wisdom and compassion." - Ed Tarkington


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Shadow Ridge
(Jo Wyatt Mystery, book 1)
M E Browning
thumb
First Shot
(Grant Fletcher, book 1)
John Ryder
thumb
The Fallen Girls
(Detective Clara Jefferies, book 1)
Kathryn Casey

Used availability for Christopher Swann's Shadow of the Lions

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
ISBN: 1-61620-500-8 / 978-1-61620-500-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
ISBN: 1-61620-861-9 / 978-1-61620-861-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
ISBN: 1-68168-815-8 / 978-1-68168-815-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


August 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadow of the Lions: A Novel
Author(s): Christopher Swann
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU