book cover of The Empty World
Added by 2 of our members

The Empty World

(1936)
A Romance of the Future
(A World in Spell)
A novel by

 
 
Boarding an airliner headed from New York to London, writer Jane Forrest knows it will be a turbulent flight.

An electrical storm stands between Jane and London. When a spectacular surge of lightning illuminates the clouds below them and the airliner is knocked off course, Jane turns to the dashing, intelligent Sir Richard Barton in the next seat. As dawn breaks, Jane realises there are no lights on the ground and the radio is jammed.

When the airliner is safely landed on a deserted airfield they find cars abandoned and a mysterious lack of people on the deathly silent streets of Glasgow. Believing she will be safe in the arms of Sir Richard, it's not until he is mysteriously taken ill that Jane questions her love...

The Empty World is a touching yet thrilling sci-fi romance classic from D.E. Stevenson, perfect for fans of Stephen King and Lois McMaster Bujold.

Praise for The Empty World:


'Apocalyptic fiction by D. E. Stevenson. What more could I ask?' - Library Thing

'Like a 1936 Stephen King' - Goodreads reviewer


D. E. Stevenson was born in Edinburgh. Her father was a first cousin of Robert Louis Stevenson. She was educated privately and travelled widely in France and Italy with her parents. She married a major in the Highland Light Infantry and moved with the regiment from place to place gaining valuable experience of life and people.

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Used availability for D E Stevenson's The Empty World

Hardback Editions

February 2009 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Empty World
Author(s): D E Stevenson
ISBN: 0-7531-8176-2 / 978-0-7531-8176-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Empty World (Isis Romance)
Author(s): D E Stevenson
ISBN: 0-7531-8177-0 / 978-0-7531-8177-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

December 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Empty World
Author(s): D E Stevenson
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU