book cover of Fragile Cord
Added by 6 of our members

Fragile Cord

(2013)
(The first book in the DS Coupland series)
A novel by

 
 

'Emma has joined an elite club of authors.'

Sunday Mail

FRAGILE CORD is an emotional rollercoaster charting the psychological meltdown of a mother with a deadly secret.

Introducing Salford detectives Kevin Coupland and Alex Moreton as they investigate what appears to be a routine murder-suicide. Tracey Kavanagh was her usual upbeat self; right up until the moment she drowned her son before killing herself and her unborn child. For Alex Moreton, this case couldn't have come at a worse time, battling with her partner over whether to have another child, she is superstitious about pushing their luck - they're happy enough as they are...aren't they? DS Kevin Coupland is dealing with a serious assault outside a wine bar in Swinton. Devoted family man Ricky Wilson is brutally stabbed following an altercation with youths while out with his wife and their children to celebrate her birthday. Coupland and Moreton's cases merge when it transpires that Tracey and Ricky were tragically connected. Is it possible that there could be more to these two investigations than pure coincidence? And what was Tracey Kavanagh so frightened of she thought wiping out her family was the answer?

As the past collides with the present Coupland uncovers a tragic secret that will destroy Tracey's family, or what's left of it. Coupland must choose whether the truth shall come out - or be taken to the grave.

Fans of Mark Billingham and Angela Marsons will be gripped by this exceptional crime fiction series.

Watch out for more from D.S. Coupland:

A Detective battling personal tragedy, Kevin Coupland will stop at nothing to protect a key witness in a drive-by shooting. Book two, A PLACE OF SAFETY, book three, ONE BAD TURN book four, ABSENT and book five FLESH AND BLOOD are out now.

Praise for Emma Salisbury:

‘An author to watch.' Goodreads reviewer
‘Love the way this author writes.’

What people are saying about Fragile Cord

‘A police procedural done right.’
‘Keeps you guessing.’
‘Tautly written.
Would make a brilliant TV series.’
‘A page-turner that keeps you guessing right to the final twist.’
‘Once started I couldn’t put down.’
‘Edge of your seat.’

'Emma Salisbury slaps you with a surprise right from the get-go and keeps you riveted trying to figure out "Why, why, why?"' Carol Piner, Kindle Book Review

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Robbing the Dead
(Inspector Jim Carruthers, book 1)
Tana Collins
thumb
The Chosen Ones
(DC Ian Bradshaw, book 4)
Howard Linskey
thumb
Dead Embers
(DCI Michael Lambert, book 3)
Matt Brolly

Used availability for Emma Salisbury's Fragile Cord

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord (DS Coupland Series) (Volume 1)
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
ISBN: 1-5336-5497-2 / 978-1-5336-5497-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord: DS Coupland, Book 1
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord: DS Coupland, Book 1
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord: DS Coupland, Book 1
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord: DS Coupland, Book 1
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2013 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fragile Cord: A gripping psychological thriller (DS Coupland Book 1)
Author(s): Emma Salisbury
Publisher: Emma Salisbury
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU