book cover of Bitter Flowers
Added by 16 of our members
 

Bitter Flowers

(2021)
(Book 24 in the Varg Veum series)
A novel by

 
 
Fresh from rehab, Norwegian PI Varg Veum faces his most complex investigation yet, when a man is found drowned, a young woman disappears, and the case of a missing child is revived. The classic Nordic Noir series continues…

‘As searing and gripping as they come’ 
New York Times

‘One of my very favourite Scandinavian authors’ 
Ian Rankin

‘The Norwegian Chandler’ 
Jo Nesbø

***Now a major TV series starring Trond Espen Seim***


________________________

PI Varg Veum has returned to duty following a stint in rehab, but his new composure and resolution are soon threatened when a challenging assignment arrives on his desk.

A man is found dead in an elite swimming pool and a young woman has gone missing. Most chillingly, Varg Veum is asked to investigate the ‘Camilla Case’: an eight-year-old cold case involving the disappearance of a little girl, who was never found.

As the threads of these apparently unrelated crimes come together, against the backdrop of a series of shocking environmental crimes, Varg Veum faces the most challenging, traumatic investigation of his career.

________________________

'Every inch the equal of his Nordic confreres Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbø' 
Independent

‘Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists’ 
Financial Times

‘There are only two other writers that I know of have achieved the depth of insight in detective writing that Staalesen has: Chandler, and Ross MacDonald …’ 
Mystery Tribune

‘Employs Chandleresque similes with a Nordic Noir twist … simply superb’ 
Wall Street Journal

‘Masterful pacing’ 
Publishers Weekly

'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it’s in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies’ 
Herald Scotland

‘Unsettling, moving, sad, hopeful and hopeless … it’s rich and it’s sharp and it’s cynical and sentimental all at once’ 
NB Magazine

‘A complex, layered plot in which human tragedy and mystery combine to play out beautifully in a classic Nordic noir with a touch of Christie’ 
Live & Deadly

For fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, Jorn Lier Horst, Harlan Coben and Jussi Adler-Olsen



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A vibrant look at the life, loves and betrayals of the past and the ways in which their tentacles cling, never letting go." - John Harvey


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Gunnar Staalesen's Bitter Flowers

Paperback Editions

January 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers: The breathtaking Nordic Noir thriller (Varg Veum)
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
ISBN: 1-913193-08-X / 978-1-913193-08-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orenda Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2022 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
ISBN: 1-399-11010-1 / 978-1-399-11010-5
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon   


January 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers: The breathtaking Nordic Noir thriller (Varg Veum Book 0)
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Bitter Flowers: The breathtaking Nordic Noir thriller (Varg Veum Series)
Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Orenda Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA