Gunnar Staalesen's picture

Gunnar Staalesen

Norway (b.1947)

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for Nordic Crime Fiction, and Big Sister was shortlisted in 2019. He lives with his wife in Bergen.

Genres: Mystery
New and upcoming books
August 2024

Pursued by Death
(Varg Veum, book 26)
Varg Veum
   1. We Shall Inherit The Wind (2015)
   2. Yours Until Death (1993)
   5. At Night All Wolves Are Grey (1986)
   11. The Writing on the Wall (2002)
   15. The Consorts of Death (2009)
   16. Cold Hearts (2013)
   17. Where Roses Never Die (2015)
   20. Big Sister (2018)
   21. Wolves in the Dark (2017)
   22. Wolves at the Door (2019)
   23. Fallen Angels (2020)
   24. Bitter Flowers (2021)
   25. Mirror Image (2023)
   26. Pursued by Death (2024)
Gunnar Staalesen recommends
Unrest (2018)
(Axel Steen, book 1)
Jesper Stein
"Jesper Stein's crime novels cast a strong light on contemporary Denmark in such a way that they deserve readers far beyond Danish borders."
The Silent Room (2015)
(Matthew Ryan, book 1)
Mari Hannah
"Exciting and frightening thriller, that makes you look over your shoulder, even here in peaceful Norway - made me think of 'Homeland' when I read it."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors