book cover of The Last Hour
Added by 19 of our members

The Last Hour

(2018)
(The seventh book in the Warrior of Rome series)
A novel by

 
 
A battle-hardened soldier has just 24 hours to expose a deadly conspiracy at the heart of the Roman Empire in this brilliantly gripping historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom.
________________________

A lone figure stands silhouetted atop the Mausoleum of Hadrian. Behind him, the sun is setting over the centre of the known world. Far below, the river is in full flood. The City of Rome lies spread out before him on the far bank.

Footsteps pound up the stairs. He's been set up. An enemy is closing in; he is cornered. He jumps.

Bruised and battered, he crawls out of the raging river. He is alone and unarmed, without money or friends, trapped in a deadly conspiracy at the heart of the Empire. The City Watch has orders to take him alive; other, more sinister, forces want him dead. As the day dies, he realises he has only 24 hours to expose the conspirators, and save the leader of the world. If the Emperor dies, chaos and violence will ensue. If the Emperor dies, every single person he loves will die.

He must run, bluff, hide and fight his way across the Seven Hills.

He must reach the Colosseum, and the Emperor.

He must make it to The Last Hour.

Kiefer Sutherland's 24 meets Gladiator in this breathless historical thriller - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.
________________________

Praise for The Last Hour and Harry Sidebottom:

'An amazing story of bloodlust, ruthless ambition and revenge' - The Times

'Relentless, brutal, brilliant, this is Jack Reacher in ancient Rome' - Ben Kane

'Epic' - Mary Beard

'A ripping story...this transplanting of 24 to Ancient Rome is a great success' - Daily Telegraph

'A cracking tale. More twists and turns than the Tiber itself' - Rory Clements

'An extraordinarily vivid take on the ancient world' - Evening Standard

'Grabbed me from the start. I loved it' - Donna Leon

'The best sort of red-blooded historical fiction' - Andrew Taylor
________________________

*** GET READY FOR THE RETURN IN 2020 - HARRY SIDEBOTTOM'S BREAKOUT HISTORICAL THRILLER IS OUT NOW IN EBOOK, AND AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER IN HARDBACK ***

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Emperor's Exile
(Eagles of the Empire, book 19)
Simon Scarrow
thumb
War Lord
(Last Kingdom, book 13)
Bernard Cornwell

Used availability for Harry Sidebottom's The Last Hour

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Hour: '24' set in Ancient Rome
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
ISBN: 1-78576-421-7 / 978-1-78576-421-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Hour: '24' set in Ancient Rome (Warrior of Rome 7)
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
ISBN: 1-78576-425-X / 978-1-78576-425-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Hour
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
ISBN: 1-78576-422-5 / 978-1-78576-422-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Hour
Author(s): Sidebottom,Harry
ISBN: 1-5100-9530-6 / 978-1-5100-9530-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Hour
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Hour
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Hour
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Hour: '24' set in Ancient Rome
Author(s): Harry Sidebottom
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU