Jonathan Stroud's picture

Jonathan Stroud

UK flag (b.1970)

Jonathan Anthony Stroud is an author of fantasy books, mainly for children and youths.

Stroud grew up in St Albans where he enjoyed reading books, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Between the ages seven and nine he was often ill, so he spent most of his days in the hospital or in his bed at home. To escape boredom he would occupy himself with books and stories. After he completed his studies of English literature at the University of York, he worked in London as an editor for the Walker Books store. He worked with different types of books there and this soon led to the writing of his own books. During the 1990s, he started publishing his own works and quickly gained success.

In May 1999, Stroud published his first children's novel, Buried Fire, which was the first of a line of fantasy/mythology children's books.

Among his most prominent works are the bestselling Bartimaeus Trilogy. A special feature of these novels compared to others of their genre is that Stroud examines the stereotypes and ethics of the magician class and the enslaved demons. This is done by examining the perspective of the sarcastic and slightly egomaniacal djinni Bartimaeus. The books in this series are The Amulet of Samarkand, The Golem's Eye, and Ptolemy's Gate, his first books to be published in the United States.

Stroud lives in St Albans, Hertfordshire, with his two children, Isabelle and Arthur, and his wife Gina, an illustrator of children's books.

Genres: Children's Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy
   Buried Fire (1999)
   The Leap (2001)
   The Last Siege (2003)
   Heroes of the Valley (2009)
Novellas and Short Stories
Picture Books show
Non fiction show
Jonathan Stroud recommends
Arkspire (2023)
(Arkspire, book 1)
Jamie Littler
"Jamie Littler has created a masterful adventure, teeming with fabulous characters, eerie monsters and ancient mystery. Text and art both crackle with marvellous invention. If you like incredible cityscapes, break-neck thrills, sassy heroines and irritable shadow-demons (and hey, who DOESN'T love all that?), Arkspire is the book for you."
Fireborn (2021)
Twelve and the Frozen Forest

(Fireborn , book 1)
Aisling Fowler
"Fireborn is a thrillingly assured debut that grips from the get-go. Featuring a fiercely charismatic heroine and a cast of extraordinary companions, it transports the reader to a fascinating landscape of ice and peril. Aisling Fowler conjures up the perfect balance of high adventure, breathless action and eerie wonder, mixing it all with scenes of genuine emotional power. Elegantly structured, endlessly exciting, Fireborn is the perfect introduction to a rich and magical new world."
When the Sky Falls (2021)
Phil Earle
"A beautiful and majestic piece of work... Manages to be raw and gentle, harrowing and uplifting, all while racing inexorably towards its unforgettable end. Wow. Children's literature at its best."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Jonathan Stroud
Next (2012)
edited by
Keith Gray
The Dragon Book (2009)
Magical Tales from the Masters of Modern Fantasy
edited by
Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors