book cover of The Heir of Venus
Added by 8 members
 

The Heir of Venus

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
This feminist retelling of Greek and Roman mythology reimagines the story of Aeneas and the women once left at the fringes of his story, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes.

To the world he's a legend. To her he's a liar.


Lavinia never asked to be fought over. But now her childhood sweetheart has waged a war that threatens to destroy everything she holds dear, all because Lavinia's father has promised her to somebody else´┐Ż´┐ŻAeneas. 

Aeneas, rumored to be the son of Venus, is famed for his bravery, cunning, and his vision for a new great Empire. He is also secretive, slippery, and Lavinia wonders why he will never discuss the past he left behind.

So when a stranger arrives in the camp with stories about Aeneas that suggest he is not what he seems, Lavinia realizes she has to take her future, and that of her people, into her own hands.

With striking prose and an inquisitive eye cast back on mythology,
The Heir of Venus is an impactful and relatable story of a fight for the truth, set in the rich world of Greek mythology. 


Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Laura Shepperson's The Heir of Venus


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors