book cover of The End of Magic
Added by 1 of our members

The End of Magic

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.


Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she's worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills.

Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, but dreams of an apocalypse are giving him massive anxiety attacks.

Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise to save the life of a young girl that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic's ending.

A stand alone fantasy novel for readers of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch


"The sort of book you give to people who say "prove to me why I should read fantasy"... A simply terrific read." - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series

"Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes." - RJ Barker, author of the Wounded Kingdom Trilogy

"Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story... exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of." - Gavin G. Smith, author of the Veteran series

"Stay does for George RR Martin what Pratchett did for Tolkien." - Julian Barr, author of The Way Home



"The writing is excellent: vivid images, clear voice, and well-rounded characters." - Amazon.com reviewer


"Be prepared to laugh, to cry, and to get paper cuts from all the page-turning!" - Amazon.com reviewer



"An excellent read for fans of Terry Pratchett and great British comedy." - Amazon.com reviewer



"What was truly unique is that Mark Stay has given us a novel in the fantasy genre, but taken away the magic a quarter of the way through. What transpires is gut wrenching, heart breaking and grisly." - Amazon.com reviewer



"This was a blast, hints of Joe Abercrombie's books and his dark humour, but presented in a world in chaos." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The most fun I've had reading a fantasy novel since Red Country by Joe Abercrombie." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"This book grabbed me in the first couple of pages... Couldn't stop. Really want more!" - Amazon UK Reviewer

"I may never forgive the author for that (spoiler) death scene... *When you read it you'll understand* Rarely have I shed tears so early on in a book." - Amazon UK Reviewer



Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"The sort of book you give to people who say 'prove to me why I should read fantasy'… A simply terrific read." - James Barclay

"Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes." - RJ Barker

"Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story… exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of." - Gavin Smith


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Tethered Mage
(Swords and Fire, book 1)
Melissa Caruso
thumb
The Emperor's Hawks
(Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne)
Brian Staveley

Used availability for Mark Stay's The End of Magic

Paperback Editions

March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The End Of Magic: When magic is no more, which side will you choose?
Author(s): Mark Stay
ISBN: 1-9996471-3-0 / 978-1-9996471-3-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Unusually Tall Stories Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The End of Magic
Author(s): Mark Stay
ISBN: 1-78965-004-6 / 978-1-78965-004-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Unbound Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The End Of Magic: When magic is no more, which side will you choose?
Author(s): Mark Stay
Publisher: Unusually Tall Stories Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The End of Magic
Author(s): Mark Stay
Publisher: Unbound Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU