book cover of Suppression and Suspicion
Added by 24 of our members
 

Suppression and Suspicion

(2022)
(Book 15 in the Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles series)
A novel by

 
 
Delve into the world of fourteenth-century England in this thrilling historical mystery, the fifteenth in the brilliant Chronicles of Hugh de Singleton.


Edmund Harkins has gone missing.

Few in Bampton liked him, knowing him to be a wife-beater and distinctly unsavoury character, so when some hungry pigs unearth his corpse from a shallow grave, there is hardly an outpouring of grief.


As bailiff, it is Hugh de Singleton’s duty to bring Edmund’s killer to justice. But where is he to start investigating when almost everyone in the village has a motive? And when everyone is pleased to see the scoundrel dead, who knows how far they might go to help someone get away with murder?


To further complicate Hugh's life, the Bishop of Exeter has appointed his nephew as Bampton’s new vicar. But as well as an obsession with discovering any heretical views Hugh might hold, he could not be more unpriestly – he not only acts appallingly with Lady Katherine’s maid, but is contributing to the unhealthy atmosphere of suppression and suspicion that has come to pervade the village . . .


Fast paced and full of twists and turns, Suppression and Suspicion is a brilliant medieval murder mystery perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Peter Ellis. Mel Starr paints an immersive and atmospheric picture of fourteenth-century England, and weaves a compelling mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page.


The fifteenth volume in the Chronicles of Hugh de Singleton, Suppression and Suspicion will be thoroughly enjoyed by long time fans of the series but can also be read as a standalone novel.




Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Paperback Editions

September 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Suppression and Suspicion (The Chronicles of Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon)
Author(s): Mel Starr
ISBN: 1-78264-354-0 / 978-1-78264-354-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Suppression and Suspicion (The Chronicles of Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Book 15)
Author(s): Mel Starr
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU