book cover of Blackout
Added by 264 members
 

Blackout

(2021)
(The first book in the Berlin Wartime Thriller series)
A novel by

 
 
#1 Sunday Times bestselling author

“Atmosphere, sharp intrigue, and a host of fascinating characters all combine to make this one the next addition to your keeper shelf." —Steve Berry,
New York Times bestselling author

Fans of Philip Kerr’s Berlin Trilogy, Robert Ludlum, Andrew Gross, and William Christie can buckle down for an intense plunge into the darkest heart of war in #1 Sunday Times bestselling author Simon Scarrow’s blistering new World War II thriller.

As the Nazis tighten their chokehold on the capital, panic and paranoia fester as blackout is rigidly enforced. Every night the city is plunged into an oppressive, suffocating darkness—pitch-perfect conditions for unspeakable acts.
 
When a young woman is found brutally murdered, it’s up to Criminal Inspector Horst Schenke to solve the case quickly. His reputation is already on the line for his failure to join the Nazi Party. If he doesn’t solve the case, the consequences could be fatal.  
 
Schenke's worst fears are confirmed when a second victim is found. As the investigation takes him deeper into the regime’s darkest corridors, Schenke realises danger lurks behind every corner—and that the warring factions of the Reich can be as deadly as a killer stalking the streets . . .
 
“Mesmerising. Nail-biting. Unputdownable. Utterly authentic and beautifully written.”
—Damien Lewis

“Taut and chilling—I was completely gripped.” —Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider series


Genre: Historical

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Simon Scarrow's Blackout


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors