New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The American Boy

(2003)
A novel by

 
Awards
The Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year Best Book (nominee)
Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. A heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old. The American Boy is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Dominion
C J Sansom

The Thirst
(Harry Hole, book 11)

Jo Nesbø

By Gaslight
Steven Price

Racing the Devil
(Ian Rutledge, book 19)

Charles Todd
 
Used availability for Andrew Taylor's The American Boy


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

July 2003 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710961-X / 978-0-00-710961-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2007 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-779151-8 / 978-0-00-779151-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2004 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710960-1 / 978-0-00-710960-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2008 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-726673-1 / 978-0-00-726673-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2006 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7531-7420-0 / 978-0-7531-7420-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2003 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710959-8 / 978-0-00-710959-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

September 2016 : MP3 CD
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 1-5318-6919-X / 978-1-5318-6919-9
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

July 2005 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

July 2005 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2005 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   

June 2005 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   

January 2005 : UK Audio Cassette
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-720683-6 / 978-0-00-720683-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2005 : UK Audio CD
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-720684-4 / 978-0-00-720684-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2004 : UK Audio Cassette
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7540-9731-5 / 978-0-7540-9731-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2004 : UK Audio CD
Title: The American Boy: Complete & Unabridged
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7540-9626-2 / 978-0-7540-9626-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

December 2012 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for