New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The American Boy

The American Boy

(2003)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
The Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year Best Book (nominee)
Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. A heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old. The American Boy is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Racing the Devil
(Ian Rutledge, book 19)
Charles Todd
thumb
The Whited Sepulchres
(William Monk, book 9)
Anne Perry
thumb
Telling Tales
(Vera Stanhope, book 2)
Ann Cleeves

Used availability for Andrew Taylor's The American Boy

Hardback Editions

July 2003 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710961-X / 978-0-00-710961-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

January 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-779151-8 / 978-0-00-779151-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-726673-1 / 978-0-00-726673-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2006 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7531-7420-0 / 978-0-7531-7420-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2004 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710960-1 / 978-0-00-710960-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2003 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-710959-8 / 978-0-00-710959-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: 1: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 1-5318-6919-X / 978-1-5318-6919-9
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2005 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2005 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2005 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


June 2005 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2005 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-720683-6 / 978-0-00-720683-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2005 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-00-720684-4 / 978-0-00-720684-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2004 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7540-9731-5 / 978-0-7540-9731-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2004 : UK Audio CD

Title: The American Boy: Complete & Unabridged
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
ISBN: 0-7540-9626-2 / 978-0-7540-9626-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

December 2012 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The American Boy
Author(s): Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA