book cover of The God Game
Added by 18 of our members

The God Game

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Stranger Things and Ready Player One, The God Game is a brilliantly plotted science-fiction thriller about a VR game in which the stakes are impossibly high: if you die in the game, you die in real life

Five best friends in a high school computer club get sucked into an underground hacker's game run by a mysterious A.I. that thinks it is God. It's all fun and games until people start to get hurt.

And the stakes keep getting higher. As the Game pits them against each other and turns their high school upside down, it offers the ultimate promise - win and learn the meaning of life; die in the game, and die for real.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A gripping page-turner." - Elif Batuman

"Tension and turmoil add up to high stakes suspense and a plot that will make you wonder if all this stuff is real. Danny Tobey absolutely kicks butt and takes names in this gem of a thriller." - Steve Berry

"Smart, propulsive and gripping, The God Game is an ambitious thriller and a terrifying examination of what could - and probably already is - happening in the world of artificial intelligence." - Harlan Coben

"Like an episode of Black Mirror written by Stephen King. It reminded me in parts of Stand By Me meets Ready Player One - a wildly original thriller with heart." - John Marrs

"A dark, edgy thriller." - Tom Perrotta


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Danny Tobey's The God Game

Hardback Editions

January 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-4732-2447-0 / 978-1-4732-2447-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-250-30614-0 / 978-1-250-30614-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-4732-2449-7 / 978-1-4732-2449-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-250-75722-3 / 978-1-250-75722-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-4732-2448-9 / 978-1-4732-2448-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
ISBN: 1-250-27079-0 / 978-1-250-27079-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The God Game
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The God Game: A Novel
Author(s): Danny Tobey
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA