book cover of Daemon
Added by 25 of our members

Daemon

(2006)
(The first book in the Daemon series)
A novel by

 
 
Already an underground sensation, a high-tech thriller for the wireless age that explores the unthinkable consequences of a computer program running without human control - a daemon - designed to dismantle society and bring about a new world order

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Daniel Suarez's Daemon

Hardback Editions

January 2009 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
ISBN: 0-525-95111-3 / 978-0-525-95111-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dutton Adult
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Daemon (Daemon Series)
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
ISBN: 1-5247-4189-2 / 978-1-5247-4189-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dutton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2010 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez, Quercus
ISBN: 1-84724-961-2 / 978-1-84724-961-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2010 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Daemon)] [By (author) Daniel Suarez] published on (January, 2010)
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


January 2010 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Daemon)] [By (author) Daniel Suarez] published on (January, 2010)
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 1900 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: DAEMON (Daemon Series)
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
ISBN: 0-451-22873-1 / 978-0-451-22873-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Signet Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
ISBN: 1-84724-944-2 / 978-1-84724-944-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2006 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Leinad Zeraus
ISBN: 0-9786271-0-5 / 978-0-9786271-0-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Verdugo Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2009 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
ISBN: 0-14-314444-8 / 978-0-14-314444-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2009 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2009 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2009 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2009 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2010 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez, Quercus
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2009 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Daemon
Author(s): Daniel Suarez
Publisher: Dutton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA