book cover of Dark Asylum
Added by 9 of our members

Dark Asylum

(2017)
(The second book in the Jem Flockhart series)
A novel by

 
 
'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS

'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

A chilling and atmospheric thriller perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Silent Companions and The Strangers Diaries.

1851, Angel Meadow Asylum. Dr Rutherford, principal physician to the insane, is found dead, his head bashed in, his ears cut off, his lips and eyes stitched closed. The police direct their attention towards Angel Meadow's inmates, but to Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain the crime is an act of calculated retribution, rather than of madness.

To discover the truth Jem and Will must pursue the story through the darkest corners of the city - from the depths of a notorious rookery, to the sordid rooms of London's brothels, the gallows, the graveyard, the convict fleet and then back to the asylum. In a world where guilt and innocence, crime and atonement, madness and reason, are bounded by hypocrisy, ambition and betrayal, Jem and Will soon find themselves caught up in a web of dark secrets and hidden identities.

Praise for E.S. Thomson:

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELL

'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS

'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS

'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN

'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS

'A tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' EVENING TELEGRAPH

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Subtle Serpent
(Sister Fidelma, book 4)
Peter Tremayne
thumb
A Test of Wills
(Inspector Ian Rutledge, book 1)
Charles Todd
thumb
Dissolution
(Shardlake, book 1)
C J Sansom

Used availability for E S Thomson's Dark Asylum

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum (Jem Flockhart Mysteries)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68324-808-2 / 978-1-68324-808-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A Jem Flockhart Mystery
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2231-3 / 978-1-4721-2231-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68177-539-5 / 978-1-68177-539-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68177-904-8 / 978-1-68177-904-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A chilling, page-turning mystery (Jem Flockhart)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2230-5 / 978-1-4721-2230-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A chilling, page-turning mystery (Jem Flockhart)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2232-1 / 978-1-4721-2232-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries Book 2)
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   


March 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A chilling, page-turning mystery
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dark Asylum: A chilling, page-turning mystery (Jem Flockhart Book 2)
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU