L C Tyler's picture

L C Tyler

UK flag

L. C. Tyler grew up in Essex and studied geography at Jesus College Oxford University and systems analysis at City University in London. During a career with the British Council he lived in Malaysia, Sudan, Thailand and Denmark. More recently he has been based in Islington and West Sussex and is Chief Executive of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. He is married and has two children and one dog.

Genres: Historical Mystery, Cozy Mystery, Mystery
New and upcoming books
Herring Mysteries
   1. The Herring Seller's Apprentice (2007)
   2. Ten Little Herrings (2009)
   3. The Herring in the Library (2010)
   4. The Herring on The Nile (2011)
   5. Crooked Herring (2014)
   6. Cat Among the Herrings (2016)
   7. Herring in the Smoke (2017)
   8. The Maltese Herring (2019)
   9. Farewell My Herring (2021)
John Grey Historical Mystery
   1. A Cruel Necessity (2014)
   2. A Masterpiece of Corruption (2016)
   3. The Plague Road (2016)
   4. Fire (2017)
   5. The Bleak Midwinter (2018)
   6. Death of a Shipbuilder (2020)
   7. Too Much of Water (2021)
   8. The Summer Birdcage (2022)
   9. A Well-Earned Death (2023)
   10. A Killing on Primrose Hill (2024)
thumbno image available
Anthologies edited
   Bodies In The Bookshop (2015) (with Ayo Onatade)
no image available
L C Tyler recommends
Blood on the Siberian Snow (2022)
(Olga Pushkin Mystery, book 2)
C J Farrington
"An absolute delight!."
The Three Dahlias (2022)
(Dahlia Lively, book 1)
Katy Watson
"An affectionate homage to the Golden Age of Detective Fiction and a wry nod to our continuing fascination with it. Great fun. Warm, ingenious and. . . lively!"
The Angel's Mark (2018)
(Nicholas Shelby, book 1)
S W Perry
"A remarkably assured and classy debut. Perry grabs your attention from the first paragraph and holds it throughout a fascinating journey into high and low life of Tudor London. This could, hopefully, be the start of an addictive series."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by L C Tyler
Death of a Bad Neighbour (2022)
edited by
Jack Calverley
Music of the Night (2022)
(Crime Writer's Association Anthology)
edited by
Martin Edwards

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors