book cover of A War of Flowers
Added by 3 of our members

A War of Flowers

(2014)
(The Scent of Secrets)
(The third book in the Clara Vine series)
A novel by

 
 
Set in Europe in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.

The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn - and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Kommandant's Girl
(Kommandant's Girl, book 1)
Pam Jenoff

Used availability for Jane Thynne's A War of Flowers

Hardback Editions

March 2016 : UK Hardback

Title: A War Of Flowers
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-7505-4212-8 / 978-0-7505-4212-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers (Clara Vine 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4711-3188-2 / 978-1-4711-3188-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-385-68291-3 / 978-0-385-68291-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets: A Novel (Clara Vine)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-553-39390-1 / 978-0-553-39390-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers (Clara Vine 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4711-3190-4 / 978-1-4711-3190-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers (Clara Vine 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4711-3189-0 / 978-1-4711-3189-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


September 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


January 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2015 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4712-8410-7 / 978-1-4712-8410-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets (Clara Vine Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2015 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Scent of Secrets: A Novel (Clara Vine Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   


November 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A War of Flowers: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in pre-war Paris (Clara Vine Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK