book cover of Berlin Duet
Added by 20 members
 

Berlin Duet

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
'What a love story' Elizabeth Buchan
'Gripping and heartfelt' Elisabeth Gifford
'Entirely convincing and authentic' Leonora Nattrass


UNITED BY WAR. DIVIDED BY A SECRET.

From silent era Hollywood and the nightclubs of pre-war Vienna to the ruins of Soviet Berlin, discover a moving, ambitious story of an enduring love amidst the devastation of war . . .

In 1938, English spy Harry Taverner and Jewish photographer Anna Cantrell spend the night dancing at Berlin's most elegant hotel. Anna is married to another man, the Nazi shadow is rising over Europe and neither expects to ever meet again.

But once peace is declared, they reunite in the ruins of Berlin, where Anna is searching for her missing children. With the blockade tightening and the Soviets set on conquest, Harry and Anna walk a treacherous line between love and duty, integrity and survival, loyalty and betrayal. And as the Cold War dawns, they are bound together by a secret that will only be revealed decades later, when Berlin finds itself on the cusp of another transformation...
Berlin Duet is a sweeping, unforgettable historical epic from the Kindle-bestselling author of The Angel's Mark. Perfect for fans of Sebastian Faulks and William Boyd.
PRAISE FOR S. W. PERRY:

'A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous' Rory Clements

'Wonderful! Beautiful writing' Giles Kristian

'Dramatic and colourful'
Sunday Times


'The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive . . . my favourite historical crime series' S. G. MacLean

'No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century' Andrew Swanston
'A rattling good read' William Ryan

Genre: Historical Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors