book cover of The Winter Garden
Added by 3 of our members

The Winter Garden

(2014)
(Woman in the Shadows)
(The second book in the Clara Vine series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear's Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence - and discovering a deadly secret.

Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine's star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis' official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman's life, and its abrupt end, that draw her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist's model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. Then she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler's notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna's death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth - for the Gestapo is one step behind her.

Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A German Requiem
(Bernie Gunther, book 3)
Philip Kerr

Used availability for Jane Thynne's The Winter Garden

Hardback Editions

December 2015 : UK Hardback

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-7505-4211-X / 978-0-7505-4211-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden (Clara Vine 2)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-84983-987-5 / 978-1-84983-987-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-385-68297-2 / 978-0-385-68297-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows: A Novel (Clara Vine)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 0-553-39440-1 / 978-0-553-39440-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Winter Garden (Clara Vine 2)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-84983-989-1 / 978-1-84983-989-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-84983-988-3 / 978-1-84983-988-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


September 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


May 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Woman in the Shadows: A Novel (Clara Vine Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   


February 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Winter Garden
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK