Charles Todd's picture

Charles Todd

(Caroline and Charles Todd)
USA flag

Charles Todd is a pen name used by the American authors Caroline and Charles Todd. This mother-and-son writing team lives in the eastern United States, in North Carolina and Delaware, respectively. The pseudonymous mystery authors are best known for a series of novels, set in post World War I England. These intelligent and literate books deal with the cases of Inspector Ian Rutledge, a veteran of the European campaigns who is attempting to pick up the pieces of his Scotland Yard career. However, he must keep his greatest burden a secret. Suffering from shell shock, he lives with the constant cynical, taunting voice of Hamish MacLeod, a young Scots soldier he was forced to execute on the battlefield for refusing an order.

Genres: Historical Mystery, Mystery
   Tales (2015)
Series contributed to
Dilys Awards Best Book nominee (1997) : A Test of Wills
Dilys Awards Best Book nominee (1999) : Wings of Fire
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2001) : Legacy of the Dead
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel nominee (2012) : An Unmarked Grave
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel winner (2013) : A Question of Honor
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel nominee (2014) : Hunting Shadows
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel nominee (2014) : An Unwilling Accomplice

Charles Todd recommends
Dame Agatha's Shorts (2009)
Elena Santangelo
"The most readable guide and in-depth companion to Agatha's Shorts that any fan could ever wish for. No mystery library, personal or public, should be without this resource. Santangelo has created a gem ..."
Angel Interrupted (2010)
(Dead Detective Mystery, book 2)
Chaz McGee
"[A] fascinating new series."
Who's Sorry Now? (2019)
(Lady Adelaide Mystery, book 2)
Maggie Robinson
"If you like a clever mystery...Who's Sorry Now? is just your cup of English murder."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors