book cover of Commodus

Commodus

(2019)
(The second book in the Damned Emperors series)
A novel by

 
 
'Astonishing . . . A fascinating, detailed and dramatic story of one of Rome's most notorious emperors' SUNDAY EXPRESS

Commodus is a brilliant, thrilling novel about one of Rome's most intriguing - and notorious - emperors, for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Christian Cameron, Ben Kane and Harry Sidebottom.


Rome is enjoying a period of stability and prosperity. The Empire's borders are growing, and there are two sons in the imperial succession for the first time in Rome's history.

But all is not as it appears. Cracks are beginning to show. Two decades of war have taken their toll, and there are whispers of a sickness in the East. The Empire stands on the brink of true disaster, an age of gold giving way to one of iron and rust, a time of reason and strength sliding into hunger and pain.

The decline may yet be halted, though. One man tries to hold the fracturing empire together. To Rome, he is their emperor, their Hercules, their Commodus.

But Commodus is breaking up himself, and when the darkness grips, only one woman can hold him together. To Rome she was nothing. The plaything of the emperor. To Commodus, she was everything. She was Marcia.

From the author of the critically acclaimed Caligula ('an engrossing new spin on a well-known tale' - The Times) comes the new novel in The Damned Emperors series: Commodus.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE DAMNED EMPEROR SERIES:

'Commodus by Simon Turney is my sort of historical fiction - people who actually lived - with their lives told in an intriguing and interesting way' - Amazon review

'Truly a magnificent read, insightful, powerful, emotional and gripping from the start' - Amazon review

'Simon Turner is a first class writer, and he certainly did his research well' Amazon review

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Sword of Kings
(Last Kingdom, book 12)
Bernard Cornwell
thumb
Tombland
(Shardlake, book 7)
C J Sansom
thumb
Lions of Rome
(Praetorian, book 4)
S J A Turney

Used availability for Simon Turney's Commodus

Hardback Editions

June 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Commodus (The Damned Emperors)
Author(s): Simon Turney
ISBN: 1-4746-0736-5 / 978-1-4746-0736-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Commodus: The Damned Emperors Book 2
Author(s): Simon Turney
ISBN: 1-4746-0738-1 / 978-1-4746-0738-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Commodus (The Damned Emperors)
Author(s): Simon Turney
ISBN: 1-4746-0737-3 / 978-1-4746-0737-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
ISBN: 1-78771-414-4 / 978-1-78771-414-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
ISBN: 1-78771-449-7 / 978-1-78771-449-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Commodus
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Commodus: The Damned Emperors Book 2
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Commodus: The Damned Emperors Book 2
Author(s): Simon Turney
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU