book cover of London Rain
Added by 12 of our members

London Rain

(2015)
(The sixth book in the Josephine Tey series)
A novel by

 
 
Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment in Nicola Upson's popular series - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs - that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.

London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals.

Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford - and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony.

Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets...caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making.

Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge - and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Forgotten Place
(Bess Crawford Mystery, book 10)
Charles Todd

Used availability for Nicola Upson's London Rain

Paperback Editions

May 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 0-571-28776-X / 978-0-571-28776-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: London Rain: A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey (Josephine Tey Mysteries)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 0-06-241815-7 / 978-0-06-241815-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 0-571-28775-1 / 978-0-571-28775-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey Mysteries, Book 6)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 1-5046-8428-1 / 978-1-5046-8428-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: London Rain Lib/E (Josephine Tey Mysteries)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 1-5046-8426-5 / 978-1-5046-8426-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2016 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey Mysteries, Book 6)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 1-5046-8427-3 / 978-1-5046-8427-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: The Josephine Tey Mysteries, Book 6
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: The Josephine Tey Mysteries, Book 6
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: Josephine Tey, Book 6
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: Josephine Tey, Book 6
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: Josephine Tey, Book 6
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Whole Story AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2015 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey) (Unabridged Audiobook)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
ISBN: 1-5100-0703-2 / 978-1-5100-0703-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: London Rain: A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey (Josephine Tey Mysteries Book 6)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: London Rain (Josephine Tey Book 6)
Author(s): Nicola Upson
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU