Alan Bradley's picture

Alan Bradley


Alan Bradley received the Crime Writers' Association Debut Dagger Award for The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, his first novel, which went on to win the Agatha Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, the Arthur Ellis Award, the Macavity Award and the Spotted Owl Award. He is the author of many short stories, children's stories, newspaper columns, and the memoir The Shoebox Bible. He co-authored Ms. Holmes of Baker Street with the late William A.S. Sarjeant. Bradley lives in Malta with his wife and two calculating cats. 

Genres: Historical Mystery
Non fiction
   Ms. Holmes of Baker Street (1980) (with William A S Sarjeant)
   The Shoebox Bible (2006)
Agatha Award Best First Novel winner (2009) : The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie
Anthony Awards Best First Novel nominee (2010) : The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie
Barry Awards Best First Novel winner (2010) : The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie
Dilys Awards Best Book winner (2010) : The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie
Macavity Awards Best First Novel winner (2010) : The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie

Alan Bradley recommends
A Curious Beginning (2015)
(Veronica Speedwell Mystery, book 1)
Deanna Raybourn
"With wicked intelligence, Deanna Raybourn has created a fresh and fascinating sleuth. Veronica Speedwell is sure to join the greats of mystery fiction. Impeccably plotted and meticulously researched, 'A Curious Beginning' will leave you, as it left me, whimpering for more."
The Department of Sensitive Crimes (2019)
(Detective Varg, book 1)
Alexander McCall Smith
"With astonishing heart and mind, Alexander McCall Smith launches a bold and original new series. With The Department of Sensitive Crimes, he invents a new and compassionate genre: Scandi Blanc. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry, but in the end I did both. I’m already looking forward to the next one."
Remembering the Dead (2019)
(Penny Brannigan Mystery, book 10)
Elizabeth J Duncan
"For those of us who love comfy mysteries."
All That's Bright and Gone (2019)
Eliza Nellums
"A luminous debut. Eliza Nellums' six-year-old Aoife (pronounced "EE-fah", if you please) will knock you cock-a-hoop. A hero's journey, with possible angels, ghosts, and Teddies. It will change forever the way you look at the little girl next door."
Never Forget (2020)
(Victor Lessard, book 1)
Martin Michaud
"It will leave you bloodless, and I mean that in the nicest possible way."
Fortune Favours the Dead (2020)
(Pentecost and Parker, book 1)
Stephen Spotswood
"Bullets, blood, bodies, and belly-laughs: all the ingredients of a classic mystery novel. Stephen Spotswood hard-boils with the best of ‘em!"
The Murder of Mr. Wickham (2022)
(Murder of Mr. Wickham, book 1)
Claudia Gray
"Jane Austen is spinning in her grave: she's trying to climb out and shake Claudia Gray's hand. The Murder of Mr. Wickham delivers in spades--and in diamonds, hearts, and clubs!"

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors