book cover of The Dragon Masters and Other Stories

The Dragon Masters and Other Stories

A collection of stories by

Here in one unforgettable volume are three of Jack Vance's best novellas - rich adventures of humanity in crisis, showcasing Vance's stylistic flair, creative ingenuity, wit, and storytelling skill: the Hugo-winning "The Dragon Masters," Hugo and Nebula-winning "The Last Castle", and that gem of science re-born, "The Miracle Workers".

Resilient Joaz Banbeck of Aerlith sends his remarkable dragons against the non-human Basics. Xanten of Castle Hagedorn deals with the alien Meks, in their war of retribution on our own beleaguered, far-future Earth; the pragmatic Sam Salazar outdoes his betters, to save the last remnants of the human race on Pangborn.

A volume for the Vance completist, a book so many of us wish we'd had for the last fifty years. - Terry Dowling

The Dragon Masters and Other Stories is Volume 12 of the Spatterlight Press Signature Series. Released in the centenary of the author's birth, this handsome new collection is based upon the prestigious Vance Integral Edition. Select volumes enjoy up-to-date maps, and many are graced with freshly-written forewords contributed by a distinguished group of authors. Each book bears a facsimile of the author's signature and a previously-unpublished photograph, chosen from family archives for the period the book was written. These unique features will be appreciated by all, from seasoned Vance collector to new reader sampling the spectrum of this author's influential work for the first time. - John Vance II

Get it on Google Play

Used availability for Jack Vance's The Dragon Masters and Other Stories

Paperback Editions

April 2016 : USA Paperback

Title: The Dragon Masters and Other Stories
Author(s): Jack Vance
ISBN: 1-61947-098-5 / 978-1-61947-098-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Spatterlight Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

December 2011 : UK Kindle edition

Title: The Dragon Masters and Other Stories (Gateway Essentials)
Author(s): Jack Vance
Publisher: Gateway
Availability: Amazon UK