New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Philip Jose Farmer's picture

Philip José Farmer

USA (1918 - 2009)

aka Kilgore Trout, John H Watson

Philip José Farmer is known primarily for his Science Fiction, but has produced two Fantasy series World of Tiers and Riverworld, the latter an afterlife fantasy in the tradition of John Kendrick Bangs.

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Thriller

Doc Caliban and Lord Grandrith
A Feast Unknown (1969)
Lord of the Trees (1970)
The Mad Goblin (1970)
     aka Keepers of the Secrets

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Philip José Farmer

Short stories
Sail On! Sail On! (1952)
Mother (1953)
The God Business (1954)
Totem and Taboo (1954)
The Alley Man (1959)Hugo (nominee)
My Sister's Brother (1960)
     aka Open to Me, My Sister
Hugo (nominee)
The King of the Beasts (1964)
Day of the Great Shout (1965)Hugo (nominee)
A Bowl Bigger than Earth (1967)
The Felled Star (part 1) (1967)
Riders of the Purple Wage [short story] (1967)Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Shadow of Space (1967)
Don't Wash the Carats (1968)
The Jungle Rot Kid on the Nod (1968)
The Oogenesis of Bird City (1970)
The Sliced-Crosswise Only-On-Tuesday World (1971)
After King Kong Fell (1973)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Sketches Among the Ruins of My Mind (1973)
The Adventure of the Three Madmen (1974)
A Scarletin Study (1975)
The Making of Revelation, Part I (1980)
One Down, One to Go (1990)
Coda (1993)
Up the Bright River [short story] (1993)

Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1960) : The Alley Man
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1961) : My Sister's Brother
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1966) : Day of the Great Shout
Hugo Best Novella winner (1968) : Riders of the Purple Wage [short story]
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1968) : Riders of the Purple Wage [short story]
Hugo Best Novel winner (1972) : To Your Scattered Bodies Go
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1975) : After King Kong Fell
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (2001)

Philip José Farmer recommends
The Pastel City
The Pastel City (1971)
(Viriconium, book 1)
M John Harrison
"Harrison makes a tone poem of the far distant future where men and creatures which delight and terrify the imagination fight in the never-ceasing battle of good against evil."

West of Eden (1984)
(Eden, book 1)
Harry Harrison
"Brilliant...a hell of a gripping story."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for