book cover of Midnight Blue
Added by 1 of our members

Midnight Blue

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age - perfect for readers of The Miniaturist,Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.

Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue.

When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival fancy blue-on-white imported Chinese porcelain - and the graceful and coveted Delft Blue designs she creates help revolutionize the industry. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin must decide whether to defend her newfound independence, or return to the village that she'd fled.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Simone Van Der Vlugt's Midnight Blue

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue (Center Point Large Print)
Author(s): Simone Van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-68324-880-5 / 978-1-68324-880-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : UK Hardback

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-78541-453-4 / 978-1-78541-453-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : UK Paperback

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-78541-459-3 / 978-1-78541-459-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A Novel
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 0-06-268686-0 / 978-0-06-268686-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A gripping historical novel about the birth of Delft pottery, set in the Dutch Golden Age
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 0-00-821210-4 / 978-0-00-821210-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A gripping historical novel about the birth of Delft pottery, set in the Dutch Golden Age
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 0-00-821211-2 / 978-0-00-821211-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2016 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Night blue
Author(s): Simone Van der Vlugt
ISBN: 9026334680 / 978-9026334689
Publisher: Ambo|Anthos
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A Novel
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-982528-81-8 / 978-1-982528-81-2
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: Library Edition
Author(s): Simone Van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-982528-80-X / 978-1-982528-80-5
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone Van der Vlugt
ISBN: 1-982528-82-6 / 978-1-982528-82-9
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A Novel
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A Novel
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A Novel
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   


February 2017 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Midnight Blue: A gripping historical novel about the birth of Delft pottery, set in the Dutch Golden Age
Author(s): Simone van der Vlugt
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU