book cover of Blackberry and Wild Rose
Added by 14 of our members

Blackberry and Wild Rose

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Rich historical debut set in the secretive world of Huguenot silk weavers, for fans of The Binding and The Familiars

'Sumptuous and moving. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry' Laura Purcell

'A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale' Anna Mazzola

'A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk' Stacey Halls

WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping 'madam' is too good to refuse.

INSIDE THE THORELS' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress's blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.

IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.

THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk." - Stacey Halls

"This exquisitely evocative novel will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist." - Sarra Manning

"A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale." - Anna Mazzola

"A sumptuous and moving debut. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry." - Laura Purcell


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Pawn in Frankincense
(Lymond Chronicles, book 4)
Dorothy Dunnett

Used availability for Sonia Velton's Blackberry and Wild Rose

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-5385-0775-7 / 978-1-5385-0775-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose: A gripping and emotional read
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-78747-075-X / 978-1-78747-075-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-09-409111-1 / 978-1-09-409111-2
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose: A gripping and emotional read perfect for autumn nights
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-78747-079-2 / 978-1-78747-079-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose: A gripping and emotional read
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-78747-076-8 / 978-1-78747-076-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Blackberry And Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-78771-855-7 / 978-1-78771-855-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Blackberry And Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-78771-856-5 / 978-1-78771-856-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-5384-7914-1 / 978-1-5384-7914-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose Lib/E
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-5384-7913-3 / 978-1-5384-7913-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
ISBN: 1-5384-7915-X / 978-1-5384-7915-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Blackberry and Wild Rose: A gripping and emotional read
Author(s): Sonia Velton
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU