book cover of The Royal Burgh
Added by 4 of our members
 

The Royal Burgh

(2018)
(The second book in the Simon Danforth Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
1543.

King James V is dead, and Scotland is thrown into turmoil.

As the country is torn asunder the nation's criminals flourish.

Out of favour with their master, Simon Danforth and Arnaud Martin escape the discontent in Edinburgh and travel to Stirling, hoping to find peace.

Instead they find murder, and must pit themselves against a shadowy killer.

Investigating the brutal death of a mysterious, beautiful woman, Danforth finds himself locking horns with a master criminal whose identity is shrouded in secrecy, but who has his own private army of enforcers.

With Martin bent on revenge against the doctor who let his sister die, can Danforth unmask the killer and stop his friend turning his own hand to murder, or will the flames of vengeance consume them both?

Recommended for fans of CJ Sampson, SJ Parris and Ellis Peters.

Praise for Steven Veerapen

"A superb, page-turning debut. The author balances gimlet-eyed research with narrative drive and clever reveals... Danforth is a strong yet torn central character... I look forward to reading the second book in the series." Richard Foreman.

Steven Veerapen was born in Glasgow and raised in Paisley. Pursuing an interest in the sixteenth century, he was awarded a first-class Honours degree in English, focussing his dissertation on representations of Henry VIII's six wives. He then received a Masters in Renaissance studies, and a Ph.D. investigating Elizabethan slander. Steven is fascinated by the glamour and ghastliness of life in the 1500s, and has a penchant for myths, mysteries and murders in an age in which the law was as slippery as those who defied it.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Steven Veerapen's The Royal Burgh

Paperback Editions

August 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Royal Burgh
Author(s): Steven Veerapen
ISBN: 1-71803-519-5 / 978-1-71803-519-5
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Royal Burgh (Simon Danforth Mystery Book 2)
Author(s): Steven Veerapen
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU