Michael Ward's picture

Michael Ward

Mike Ward is an English creator of historical fiction. Born in Liverpool, he was a BBC journalist and journalism academic before turning to non-factual writing.

His debut novel 'The Rags of Time' is located in London in 1639. It marks the start of a tumultuous 40 years - civil war, regicide, republic and royal restoration. Politics, religion, commerce, science, medicine - none are left untouched by this ferment of change.

Mike believes it's the perfect setting for his hero Thomas Tallant's series of adventures, starting first with 'Rags'. He is currently working on its sequel.

Genres: Historical, Historical Mystery
Thomas Tallant
   1. Rags of Time (2020)
   2. The Wrecking Storm (2021)
   3. The Drums of War (2022)
Series contributed to
HWA Short Story Collection
   3. Royal Blood (2020) (with others)
Michael Ward recommends
The Queen's Devil (2020)
(William Constable Spy, book 3)
Paul Walker
"Walker skillfully creates a treacherous world of half-truths, plots and duplicity...simmering with impending danger."
Coronation (2020)
(Spycatcher, book 2)
Steven Veerapen
"Authentic and absorbing mystery and menace pulsate from every page."

Anthologies containing stories by Michael Ward
Sword and Sorceress I (1984)
(Sword And Sorceress, book 1)
edited by
Marion Zimmer Bradley
New Dimensions 12 (1981)
(New Dimensions, book 12)
edited by
Marta Randall and Robert Silverberg

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors