book cover of Katherine of Aragon
Added by 41 of our members

Katherine of Aragon

(2016)
The True Queen
(The first book in the Six Tudor Queens series)
A novel by

 
 
*A Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller*

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine's side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' Tracy Borman


'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian


A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen.

Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen-years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers.

She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother.
She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection.

KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.


SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Praise for Alison Weir and Katherine of Aragon:

'A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen. . . I was gripped [from] start to finish' Mavis Cheek

'Well-researched and engrossing' Good Housekeeping


'Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' Earl Spencer

'This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine. . . A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England' Sun

'Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series' Queen Anne Boleyn Blog

'Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching' Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"In this first novel of the Six Tudor Queens series, Alison Weir dazzlingly brings Katherine of Aragon to life. Based on extensive new research, it is a portrayal that shatters the many myths about Henry VIII’s long-suffering first wife. Far from being the one-dimensional victim of history, she emerges as a charismatic, indomitable, and courageous heroine whose story never fails to enthrall." - Tracy Borman

"A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen... I was gripped [from] start to finish." - Mavis Cheek

"Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating figure. But her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive." - Charles Spencer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alison Weir's Katherine of Aragon

Hardback Editions

June 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Katherine Of Aragon The True Queen (Thorndike Historical Fiction)
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-4104-9016-5 / 978-1-4104-9016-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens)
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-101-96648-3 / 978-1-101-96648-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


1756 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: Six Tudor Queens 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-4722-2747-6 / 978-1-4722-2747-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens)
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-101-96650-5 / 978-1-101-96650-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: Six Tudor Queens 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-4722-2751-4 / 978-1-4722-2751-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


1889 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: Six Tudor Queens 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-4722-2748-4 / 978-1-4722-2748-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (The Six Tudor Queens Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Alison Weir
ISBN: 1-66444-862-4 / 978-1-66444-862-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: A Novel
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: A Novel
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: Six Tudor Queens, Book 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: Six Tudor Queens, Book 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: Six Tudor Queens, Book 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens Book 1)
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: Six Tudor Queens 1
Author(s): Alison Weir
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU