book cover of The Silent Children
Added by 16 of our members

The Silent Children

(2017)
(The fourth book in the Detective Robyn Carter series)
A novel by

 
 
The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this...

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint.

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

What readers are saying about The Silent Children:


WoW.....Double WoW..........What a book! ... this series is getting better and better. I am loving it ... just brilliant and looking forward to the next book... Well Done Carol Wyer for another 5 big fat star book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Spectacular, amazing and fantastic. I love this series and this didn't disappoint it was beautifully written, dark, emotional and full of twists I didn't see coming. I really enjoyed this book one of my favourites for 2017.’ Bonnies Book Talk, 5 stars

‘I read it in one sitting, desperate to know what was coming next ... a thrill a minute ... gripping ... I have no hesitation in recommending.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘Carol Wyer is absolutely amazing and quickly becoming one of my favourite crime authors. I've just finished the Silent Children and I now want more more more ... I'm gutted I read this too fast as I wanted to savour every word ... brilliant.’ Sincerely Book Angels, 5 stars

Brilliant! ... gripping ... emotional and topical ... Fabulous and very highly recommended. I cannot wait for her next.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

Thrilling ... I was on the edge of my seat ... didn't see the ending coming. I highly recommend this one!’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘You are left guessing and second guessing through this book, I thought my detective skills had kicked in once over, but oh how wrong was I ... thrilling.’ I Love Reading

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Pulpit Rock
(DI Ben Kitto, book 4)
Kate Rhodes
thumb
The Kremlin's Vote
(Jayne Robinson Thriller, book 1)
Andrew Turpin

Used availability for Carol E Wyer's The Silent Children

Paperback Editions

December 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: A serial killer thriller with a twist: Volume 4 (Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series)
Author(s): Carol Wyer
ISBN: 1-78681-328-9 / 978-1-78681-328-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


December 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Silent Children: A serial killer thriller with a twist (Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series Book 4)
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU