book cover of The Plum Tree
Added by 19 of our members
 

The Plum Tree

(2012)
A novel by

 
 
"A touching story of heroism and loss, a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of love to transcend the most unthinkable circumstances."
—Pam Jenoff,
New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comesa haunting and lyrical tale of love and humanity in a time of unthinkable horror. The debut novel from a powerful voice in historical fiction, this resonant and courageous saga of a young German woman during World War II and the Holocaust is a must-read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network.

“Bloom where you're planted," is the advice Christine Bölz receives from her beloved Oma. But seventeen-year-old domestic Christine knows there is a whole world waiting beyond her small German village. It's a world she's begun to glimpse through music, books—and through Isaac Bauerman, the cultured son of the wealthy Jewish family she works for.

Yet the future she and Isaac dream of sharing faces greater challenges than their difference in stations. In the fall of 1938, Germany is changing rapidly under Hitler's regime. Anti-Jewish posters are everywhere, dissenting talk is silenced, and a new law forbids Christine from returning to her job—and from having any relationship with Isaac. In the months and years that follow, Christine will confront the Gestapo's wrath and the horrors of Dachau, desperate to be with the man she loves, to survive—and finally, to speak out.

Set against the backdrop of the German homefront, this is an unforgettable novel of courage and resolve, of the inhumanity of war, and the heartbreak and hope left in its wake.

"A haunting and beautiful debut novel."
Anna Jean Mayhew, author of The Dry Grass of August

"Ellen Marie Wiseman boldly explores the complexities of the Holocaust. This novel is at times painful, but it is also a satisfying love story set against the backdrop of one of the most difficult times in human history."
T. Greenwood, author of Keeping Lucy

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ellen Marie Wiseman's The Plum Tree

Hardback Editions

May 2013 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 1-61173-735-4 / 978-1-61173-735-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree: An Emotional and Heartbreaking Novel of WW2 Germany and the Holocaust
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 1-4967-3002-X / 978-1-4967-3002-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2012 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 0-7582-7843-8 / 978-0-7582-7843-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


April 2013 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 1-4526-1292-7 / 978-1-4526-1292-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2013 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree Lib/E
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2013 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree: Library Edition
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 1-4526-4292-3 / 978-1-4526-4292-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Media Inc
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2013 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
ISBN: 1-4526-6292-4 / 978-1-4526-6292-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Media Inc
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Plum Tree: An Emotional and Heartbreaking Novel of WW2 Germany and the Holocaust
Author(s): Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA