New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of My Name Is Leon

My Name Is Leon

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Desmond Elliott Prize Best Book (nominee)
Costa Book Awards Best First Novel (nominee)
"Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut" (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.

Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake is born, Leon pokes his head in the crib and says, "I'm your brother. Big brother. My. Name. Is. Leon. I am eight and three quarters. I am a boy." Jake will play with no one but Leon, and Leon is determined to save him from any pain and earn that sparkling baby laugh every chance he can.

But Leon isn't in control of this world where adults say one thing and mean another. When their mother falls victim to her inner demons, strangers suddenly take Jake away; after all, a white baby is easy to adopt, while a half-black, nine-year-old faces a less certain fate. Vowing to get Jake back by any means necessary, Leon's own journey will carry him through the lives of a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen; Maureen's cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker Leon knows only as "The Zebra"; and a colorful community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists.

Told through the perspective of young Leon, too innocent to entirely understand what has happened to him and baby Jake, but determined to do what he can to make things right. In the end, this is an uplifting story about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what ultimately makes a family. My Name Is Leon will capture your imagination and steal your heart with its "moving exploration of race and the foster-care system that offers precious insight into the mind of a child forced to grow up well before his time" (Booklist).

    

Praise for this book

"Authentic and beautiful, urgent and honest, this novel does what only the best do: it quietly makes room in your heart." - Chris Cleave

"Tender and heart-breaking." - Rachel Joyce

"A beautiful story told with compassion, urgency and wit." - Stephen Kelman


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kit de Waal's My Name Is Leon

Hardback Editions

July 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 1-5011-1745-9 / 978-1-5011-1745-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-20708-8 / 978-0-241-20708-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

July 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon: A Novel
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 1-5011-1746-7 / 978-1-5011-1746-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Paperback

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-98291-X / 978-0-241-98291-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : UK Paperback

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-98292-8 / 978-0-241-98292-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : UK Paperback

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-98202-2 / 978-0-241-98202-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-97338-4 / 978-0-241-97338-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
ISBN: 0-241-20709-6 / 978-0-241-20709-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Name Is Leon
Author(s): Kit de Waal
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK